Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Sped up recordings  (Read 4578 times)

Offline revanyoda777

• PS Silver Member
Sped up recordings
on: May 01, 2016, 07:38:27 PM
Are there any famous examples of sped up classical recordings? I am not too experienced in the science of recording piano, and the techniques that can make sped up performances happen; how can one tell if a recording is actually edited in this way?

My favorite interpretation of the Liszt etudes is done by Yukio Yokoyama, though I recently read some youtube comments stating it's likely sped up, though they could just be trying to disparage his technique. What do you think?

Here's a Yokoyama recording of Feux Follets

Offline louispodesta

Re: Sped up recordings
Reply #1 on: May 01, 2016, 10:52:25 PM
Are there any famous examples of sped up classical recordings? I am not too experienced in the science of recording piano, and the techniques that can make sped up performances happen; how can one tell if a recording is actually edited in this way?

My favorite interpretation of the Liszt etudes is done by Yukio Yokoyama, though I recently read some youtube comments stating it's likely sped up, though they could just be trying to disparage his technique. What do you think?

Here's a Yokoyama recording of Feux Follets

Starting with the rock n roll group Led Zeppelin in the late 1960's (and then later in the 1990's with classical recording artists), I have spent the better part of my adult life researching this subject.  I really do not know where to start.