Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Legato Line Help?  (Read 2419 times)

Offline pianorahrah

Legato Line Help?
on: May 10, 2016, 05:26:54 PM
Hi everyone, I need help with playing a legato line. I've been learning the piano for 8 years, and for some reason, no matter how hard I try, everybody says I have a bad touch and a bad legato. My teacher says my touch is unsophisticated.
And the thing is, I know how a legato works. You put body and arm weight on your fingers, and then slowly lift it up and exchange with the other finger slowly.
Then I go home and work on it, and it doesn't get better. :(
Can somebody help me? Thanks!
Scriabin, Chopin, Ravel, and Handel.

Offline outin

• PS Silver Member
Re: Legato Line Help?
Reply #1 on: May 11, 2016, 03:10:00 AM
My teacher says my touch is unsophisticated.
And the thing is, I know how a legato works. You put body and arm weight on your fingers, and then slowly lift it up and exchange with the other finger slowly.

I your teacher thinks your touch is inadequate he/she should be a better help for you... And that's not how I perceive legato at all. Do you listen to how your playing sounds or do you just think about what you are physically doing?

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: May 11, 2016, 08:21:49 AM
"England is a country of pianos, they are everywhere."

Offline pianorahrah

Reply #3 on: May 17, 2016, 02:07:00 AM
Here's my thoughts