Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin - Nocturne Op.9 No.2  (Read 2527 times)

Offline stylerpiano

Chopin - Nocturne Op.9 No.2
on: June 03, 2016, 03:58:22 PM
Hello all!

This is my 3. time, that I post this piece on this forum, but now I play on an acoustic piano in conservatorie.

I will take an exam in next week (2. and 3. class) in conservatorie, I will play this, Pathetique 2nd movement, and Moonlight sonata 3rd movement (the last is just for fun). Because I'm adult, I can play anything on exam, and there is not "must be played piece".

I have been playing piano nearly for 3 years now.

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin - Nocturne Op.9 No.2
Reply #1 on: June 03, 2016, 06:33:24 PM
Hello.

Nice playing and good luck in your exam.

My only thoughts, something that I noticed both visually and hearing, is that your touch is quite heavy, maybe that's just the acoustics of the piano, but there's definitely some parts here where you can get away with using the una corda pedal for more sound / colour.

The problem with this piece (not your particular performance) is that it has been heard to death by anybody that knows who Chopin is and so it is much easier to pick up on little things.
"England is a country of pianos, they are everywhere."

Offline briansaddleback

Reply #2 on: June 03, 2016, 06:46:18 PM
Hello.

Nice playing and good luck in your exam.

My only thoughts, something that I noticed both visually and hearing, is that your touch is quite heavy, maybe that's just the acoustics of the piano, but there's definitely some parts here where you can get away with using the una corda pedal for more sound / colour.