Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: I am a complete beginner. Will I find...........  (Read 1735 times)

Offline beginapiana

• PS Silver Member
I am a complete beginner. Will I find...........
on: July 08, 2016, 03:51:39 PM
Hello  (new to the forum)
   I have been studying piano chords on my own using online info for a couple of months.  I can read music.
   I am a rank beginner at really attempting to understand the relationships of scales, key, chords and notes for arranging one's own pieces.

So, my very first question is:  is  this a home for me or should I be somewhere else.  I know many of you are very advanced.

Second, the reason I was even looking for a forum was for the following question.  I was playing chords  on the Dmaj scale and trying to apply 1st and 2nd inversions for the left hand while playing with melody notes. (slowly as a beginner)  With the 1st inversion of the Gmaj chord, the question arose as to the name of that triad on a different scale.  It appears to be a BminAug. (??? if there is such)

Immediately, the question of reading chords differently in different scales or keys came to mind.   I am sure my notation is awkward.   So, when playing in the the 1st inversion of Gmaj it is the same as Bmin Aug (6th or some such).  But, it is the basic ramifications of what this means in music and its application that I wanted to know more about.

I am sure anyone responding will have to first correct some of my statements, but hopefully, the underlying question remains valid.

Please feel free to simply point me to a link to another discussion or writing on the topic.

Thank you.

Offline wage

Re: I am a complete beginner. Will I find...........