Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Playing classical music without understanding  (Read 1285 times)

Offline stargazerdrk

Playing classical music without understanding
on: August 02, 2016, 09:18:44 AM
Hello!  :)

I've been playing piano for 7 years now, without regular practice, and I took classes with a piano teacher only the first 3 years (the first year I studied modern music, and the following 2 years I learnt the basics of classical music and harmony). Since then, I have been playing piano very irregularly, and reading a few things about music theory. I love classical pieces, and I think I can play a few of them acceptable enough, but I wonder if in order to play a piece properly, you should know what is going on behind the sheet music (chords, modulations, ...), or you can limit yourself to memorising the parts you don't understand.

Thank you!

Offline visitor

• PS Silver Member
Re: Playing classical music without understanding
Reply #1 on: August 02, 2016, 10:27:27 AM
It is always important. It is more important as the depth and complexity if the work increase, less so for a frilly superficial one.
if you are telling a story, can you convey meaning and emotion better if you speak the language the story is in? If its a foreign language, can you just memorize the words through foreign language diction and mimick or repeat it? Will your personal connection and how you are impacted  get lost in transaltion?