Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Standard Graded Course of Studies For the Pianoforte vs. Faber Piano Adventures  (Read 2297 times)

Offline turbocoder3000

• PS Silver Member
Hi everyone,

I am a returning piano student at 37. I took piano lessons with a teacher for 1 year in high school for a senior class project. For the project, I progressed rapidly over six months to being able to begin learning Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto #1 (I say begin because I never fully learned it), and as part of that project’s final, I performed a portion of Liberace’s Chopsticks concerto in front of the senior class at my high school. It wasn’t a long performance but I was proud of it because of the challenge, difficulty, and the fact that I improvised a bit at the piano during the performance (not bad for a first one). At the time, our family owned a real baby grand piano I was able to spend all my time practicing on. Throughout the years, it eventually was sold and other priorities took over. Until this past year.

In August, I completely tore my right leg’s quadriceps tendon and had surgery 9/21. So, I will be laid up for at least another 2-3 months until I recover. In the meantime with my reduced work schedule it is the perfect time for me to get into a much more regular piano practice routine (I want to work up to 3-4 hours practice per day).