Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Lousy Teacher  (Read 2067 times)

Offline ameliatan

Lousy Teacher
on: November 09, 2016, 06:37:55 AM
Hi fellow teachers. I have been teaching for about 7 years now. It is a challenging yet fulfilling job. I have a few students who also enjoy lessons, practice well, and pass exams with very good marks. I also have quite many (unfortunately) who don’t or do little practice, BUT seem to enjoy my lessons, are attentive and listens to my instructions well. Their progress is very slow but parents don’t seem to blame me for it. An example are 2 beginner students, both same age, who started with me. One student reached grade 5 in 3 years with quite a high standard of playing. The other has only reached grade 2 and has been with me for 6 years! He plays like a tortoise, steady but VERY slow. I always have to push him to play faster every a few weeks.  :-\ I feel like a lousy teacher with the 2nd student. However, the parents are still happy, and just continue sending him for lessons. The strange thing is the parents tell me I am a good teacher.  Have you had any parents like this? Will they quit anyway, after they realize they are just wasting their money or should I just continue teaching them but I also depend on these students financially! 

Offline debussychopin

Re: Lousy Teacher
Reply #1 on: November 09, 2016, 08:20:38 AM