Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: How to be ready for a musical future?  (Read 1921 times)

Offline kinode

How to be ready for a musical future?
on: December 30, 2016, 03:59:39 PM
I've recently decided to dive head-in and pursue music as... well, whatever I can make it be. I've just finished school and applied for a music course on an university(Still waiting for the results, but I have a pretty good chance to make it in...). I've been playing piano for about 6 to 7 years now, mostly playing by ear and learning by myself. Right now I'm in a considerably high skill level (I think? I'm always afraid to say this tbh). I just turned 18 and I'm very scared of making mistakes or building bad expectations.
I'm very unsure on what to do from now on. I don't know if I wanna teach music or if i want to explore making music for different kinds of mediums. I don't know anything about building a name for myself or advertising myself or my music as a business. And deep down I'm kinda worride that I'm making some crazy mistake and that I might not get anywhere with music.
Was wondering what kind of advice people have for young musicians like me trying to find out where to go. Everyone says musicians should have a plan B, but is it that wrong not to even have a plan A yet?
My only "plan" right now is to focus on studying music and perhaps trying to participate on some music competitions. Though I'm not sure just how useful that would be.

Offline stevensk

Re: How to be ready for a musical future?