Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: teacher says to give up! help!  (Read 4945 times)

Offline olivialeonie

teacher says to give up! help!
on: January 30, 2017, 01:51:14 PM
Hi!
I am right now playing Mozarts Alla Turca and Debussys Arabesque 1 in E-major. I have been playing the piano for 6 years and i am 19 years old. My musictheory teacher (not my pianoteacher) said that i should give up on my dream to become an professional concertpianist because i am already to old and my pianoskill is to low for my age! is that true or should i continue "chasing" my dream?

Thanks for answering!  :)

Offline lostinidlewonder

• PS Silver Member
Re: teacher says to give up! help!
Reply #1 on: January 30, 2017, 02:18:27 PM
Sorry to nitpick but I am confused over how long you have been playing piano.

In this thread you say:
....I have been playing the piano for 6 years and i am 19 years old.

But in 2014 you posted:
"I have played the piano since 7 years but I think I am still not very good at it."
https://www.pianostreet.com/smf/index.php?topic=55826.msg601627#msg601627

I thought maybe you meant you started when you where 7 years old, but that would make you only around 10 years old now not 19.

Anyhow, yes don't chase a dream to become a professional concert pianist give up, its too difficult, no chance etc etc. Only if you are one minded enough will you be able to become a professional concert performer, don't care what people have to say to you about the issue and go about doing it.
"The biggest risk in life is to take no risk at all."
www.pianovision.com

Offline brogers70

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 30, 2017, 03:02:45 PM