Piano Forum

Topic: who is the best chopin interpreter  (Read 55352 times)

Kapellmeister27

who is the best chopin interpreter
on: January 17, 2005, 03:17:08 AM
ive been looking to get some more chopin cd's of music i dont have by him.  who do you think plays his music the best?

Offline abe

• PS Silver Member
Re: who is the best chopin interpreter
Reply #1 on: January 17, 2005, 04:15:09 AM
Ashkenazy was named the top chopin interpreter by some "authorities", I think the Chopin Society? Anyway, I tend to agree with them, Ashkenazy does a great job from what i've heard (listen to his recording of the nocturnes + ballades).
--Abe

Offline galonia

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 17, 2005, 04:25:10 AM
Yes, when I started playing Chopin, my teacher recommended I listen to Ashkenazy, too.  I have to admit I found him a bit boring at first, but he's grown on me a bit.

Does anyone have an opinion on Angela Hewitt's recordings of the Chopin Nocturnes?

Offline dj

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: January 17, 2005, 04:42:00 AM
ASHKENAZY???? cough cough!...lol actually 2 ask who the "best" chopin interpreter is, you might as well ask who the "best" pianist who ever played was! i mean what a subjective question! lol that being said....artur rubinstein would b nearly universially acknowledged as one of the greatest chopin interpreters who ever lived and i think i would say he is my favorite just because of the incredible feel he has for the movement of the music of chopin...well theres my 2 cents...have fun arguing for years and years on this topic :)

dj
rach on!

Offline e60m5

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: January 17, 2005, 05:03:31 AM
I happen to be a big fan of Krystian Zimerman's Chopin.

Offline pianiststrongbad

• PS Silver Member
Reply #5 on: January 17, 2005, 06:08:15 AM
artur rubinstein.  With the exception of the Etudes, which I prefer Pollini.

Offline pskim

• PS Silver Member
Reply #6 on: January 17, 2005, 06:17:01 AM