Piano Forum logo
November 01, 2014, 03:51:51 AM *
   Forum Home   Help Search  

Busoni – 25 original pieces and 15 Bach transcriptions

The Italian pianist Busoni’s important achievements as a composer were long over-shadowed by the fact that he was generally thought the greatest piano virtuoso after Liszt. The solo piano versions of Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D Minor (for organ) and the Chaconne from the second Violin Partita are among his most well-known transcriptions. Read more >>

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: teaching piano to a blind student  (Read 1462 times)
tigirl1

« on: May 08, 2003, 08:19:55 AM »

I am a paino teacher. Today I was asked to teach piano to a 6 year old blind student, I think it would be a rewarding experience , but I had neither experience nor knowledge in teaching a handicapped student before so I need some advice and some suggested books to read. Anyone out there has any suggetions,it would be very appreciated. Thank you.TG!  
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
S.Peterson

« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2003, 04:53:12 AM »

tigirl1,
you can go the national braille association's website and order their music catalogue if your student can read braille. You can also do a google search on this. As far as experience goes I don't have any in this area, But I wish you all the luck and I hope this helped a little.
Sara
tigirl1

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2003, 07:30:46 PM »

Thank you Sara for your information, I 'll check it out. I also found a website which is very helpful called 'National Resource Center for Blind Musicians'.

I still love to hear from anyone who has experiece teaching piano to the blind student, so keep sending your email. J.A.
reinvent

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2004, 09:39:28 AM »

Do you know jazz?  Since improvisation is such a necessity in jazz, books are not needed half as much.
   Teaching jazz can be done without books, mainly letting them record your sessions - and explaining the chords.  It's a possibility.