Piano Forum

Lucas Debargue - A Matter of Life or Death
Pianist Lucas Debargue recently recorded the complete piano works of Gabriel Fauré on the Opus 102, a very special grand piano by Stephen Paulello. Eric Schoones from the German/Dutch magazine PIANIST had a conversation with him. Read more >>

Topic: Question about Rach. prelude op.3 no.2  (Read 3211 times)

Offline chev_bigblock

• PS Silver Member
Question about Rach. prelude op.3 no.2
on: June 06, 2005, 06:33:39 PM
Hey,  I'm kind of a new person here, I read this forum all the time, but this is my first posting.  Anyway, I'm just a beginner and have been taking lessons for  seven months, and I'm just moving so I don't have my teacher anymore (I'm in the process of finding a new one) (man this is a run on sentence) and my teacher gave me some pieces to work on while I'm looking for a new teacher.  So, one of these pieces is Rachmaninoff's prelude in c# minor(op.3 no.2), and I just have a really quick question about it.  It is this:  How the heck am I supposed to play measure 52?  Before on measure 46 (where the two staves changes to four) there is a similar problem where the c#'s are played then the other notes come in after (I just assumed to hold it with the pedal) , but in 52 they are played at the same time, and I know that is not humanly possible for someone to play that.  I don't know if this is making any sense, but if you know what I'm rambling on about and know how it is generally played please feel free to give advice.

Offline robert

• PS Silver Member
Re: Question about Rach. prelude op.3 no.2
Reply #1 on: June 06, 2005, 08:52:14 PM
A beginner playing Rach's op.3 no.2?! What a beginner. :D
I am sorry but I don't really understand what your question is about. Do you mean if the keys are played at the same time with left and right hand (because according to my score, there are an 8:th difference between them all the time)? Please try to explain better and I will try to help you.