Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: What pieces to listen to  (Read 1011 times)

Offline lilyng

• PS Silver Member
What pieces to listen to
on: December 05, 2021, 02:01:54 AM
Hello everyone
This is my first post on this forum :)
I'm an intermediate pianist (I think? I've been learning piano for 6 years now and just began learning my Grade 8 (Ameb) repertoire a few weeks ago (and it might be a stretch to call myself a pianist)) who has just recently realised that maybe in order to gain a deeper understanding of and appreciation for classical music I should listen to it. It's just that there are so many composers and collections of pieces out there that I'm finding the process so overwhelming.
Could I please have some recommendations for which composers to listen to first and which pieces from those composers? Maybe from composers such as Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Chopin and Debussy? I'm not sure what to listen to from these composers either. I don't really want to have to work my way through the WTC just yet, maybe gain an appreciation for Bach's other works first. And am I supposed to listen to to Chopin's nocturnes? His piano concerti?

Thanks,
Lily :)

Offline dogperson

Re: What pieces to listen to
Reply #1 on: December 05, 2021, 02:33:08 AM
Why do you need a list of pieces?  My list for what I like will certainly not match yours.
Try the ‘wandering’ approach:  choose a pianist that you like and listen to everything he/she has played— he played Rachmaninoff and you liked it. Listen to other Rachmaninoff pieces played by other performers.  Now listen to his Ballades.