Piano Forum

Topic: Becoming a professional pianist at the age of 42  (Read 20752 times)

Offline tsachi

• PS Silver Member
Becoming a professional pianist at the age of 42
on: December 15, 2010, 10:22:26 AM
Hi,

I started playing the piano at the age of 10. After studying for about 8 year I could no longer practice since I started studying in a University which didn't leave me much time. Recently, at the age of 42, I found myself being attracted to piano more and more. I am taking lessons with a professional teacher and practice about 4 hours a day.
I am wondering if there is any way I can make up for the lost years and become a professional concert pianist. Currently I play some of Chopin's etudes, Mozart's sonatas, and many many finger dexterity exercises. I can play the etudes with no mistakes at an acceptable speed but not as brilliantly as those that you hear on CDs.

What do you think ? Is it too late ?
Does anyone share the same story ?

Thanks,
Tsachi Rosenhouse
"Every difficulty slurred over will be a ghost to disturb your repose later on."

Frederic Chopin.

Offline thalbergmad

• PS Silver Member
Re: Becoming a professional pianist at the age of 42
Reply #1 on: December 15, 2010, 12:24:59 PM
I started lessons when I was about 5 and gave up on and off for many years. When I eventually found an excellent teacher at the age of 40, he told me that there was no reason I could not become as good as a Professional, but making a career would be considerably more difficult.

I have always had the impression (probably wrongly) that a pianist is at his most marketable when under 8 years old or over 80. When you are in your 40's, you are far too old to be a prodigy and a major competition winner & far too young to be an interesting antique.

Reading other threads on this forum seems to indicate that self promotion helps, but the competition seems to be as fierce as ever in the piano world and you are going to need some angle that makes you special.

Good luck

Thal