Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: What to look for in a teacher?  (Read 1134 times)

Offline pianofourty

• PS Silver Member
What to look for in a teacher?
on: September 06, 2020, 09:04:05 PM
Hello! I'm new to Piano Forum and am hoping I can get some advice.

I completed grade 8 as a teen, and sat the ATCL after starting college.  In hindsight, it was a rubbish decision because I'd moved away from home and was staying in a place with no easy access to a piano.  Needless to say I failed!

I then moved to the UK for university, and tried to keep up with my playing, which was not that easy as my uni didn't have a music programme so whilst a piano was available it wasn't part of a series of practice rooms.  Anyway, to cut a long story short, I tried to keep up with my playing over the years by (somehow!) finding pianos at work, hiring practice rooms etc, but as time went on even this fell to the wayside.

Fast forward some 20 odd years, I decided to start again back in March and bought myself a digital piano.  I'm pleased to say that I've made some progress, and am now considering taking the ARSM at some point in the future.  I don't think I would be able to do this on my own or just with YouTube help, so am thinking about getting a teacher.