Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Beginner recording - Oshiete, Mr. Sky  (Read 4661 times)

Offline cryptkeeper

• PS Silver Member
Beginner recording - Oshiete, Mr. Sky
on: June 24, 2005, 09:43:31 AM
First of all I must say that I'm a beginner. I'm not a pro or semi pro like you guys. This piece is also not from a famous classical composer.

This is my first recording of the song. There are some pretty big mistakes in it and the dynamics are wrong (this is my biggest problem when playing the piano).

For those who are interested, it's from "fujisaki shiori piano collection".

https://users.pandora.be/lanparty/oshiete.mp3

Offline greyrune

• PS Silver Member
Re: Beginner recording - Oshiete, Mr. Sky
Reply #1 on: June 24, 2005, 12:56:54 PM
That's a lovely little peice and you played it very well.  For a beginner you seem to have a good sense of touch and rubato (not too much).  You could maybe vary the dynamics slightly more but then it's probably not really that sort of peice.  I have to say i'm glad you posted that, i was afraid that what with all these amazing recordings being posted beginners would be afraid to put their stuff up.  I'd post mine (i've also not been playing that long) but i don't have the equipment.  Anyway, again, well done.
I'll be Bach

Offline ted

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: June 26, 2005, 05:56:00 AM