Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Haydn sonata Hob. XVI/49 in E flat  (Read 3810 times)

Offline kd

• PS Silver Member
Haydn sonata Hob. XVI/49 in E flat
on: February 01, 2006, 08:25:04 PM
I heard this sonata about two weeks ago, I liked it so much that I decided to learn it, and here's some effect of my learning, of course not meant to be finished by now.
Let me know what you think - and keep in mind I'm a late beginner  :)

Offline joachimf

• PS Silver Member
Re: Haydn sonata Hob. XVI/49 in E flat
Reply #1 on: February 12, 2006, 12:44:40 PM
You have very good technique,  but it's a bit too fast for my taste =)
"Don't give me excuses, give me results!"

Offline BoliverAllmon

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 13, 2006, 04:25:10 PM
you played well, especially for only two weeks. congrats.

Offline kd

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: February 15, 2006, 12:42:50 AM
You think I have good technique...? So say this to my teacher  :)
In the 1st mvt I messed up the ornaments (especially in bar 35 and similar one later, I still can't get through this one...), I did something strange with the rhythm in the development. Of course there are a few slips here and there. Also, the final run doesn't sound very convincing - although there are no missing notes. Too fast? Perhaps. That's what in my score (138). I don't know what "professional" performances are like. {Actually, I don't know why this is a Grade 8 piece, comparing with other pieces on the list.}