Piano Forum

Topic: "A Cold Way to Go" -- Improv  (Read 3113 times)

Offline m1469

• PS Silver Member
"A Cold Way to Go" -- Improv
on: November 19, 2007, 10:10:18 PM
Okay.  Here is a new improv from within the hour.  I put my edirol on a pillow and I think this has caused a bit of a muffling.  Also, there is a surprise (not from me) at the end, but I think it's still fitting to the character of the piece  :P.

Thanks for listening !

m1469
"The greatest thing in this world is not so much where we are, but in what direction we are moving"  ~Oliver Wendell Holmes

Offline ganymed

• PS Silver Member
Re: "A Cold Way to Go" -- Improv
Reply #1 on: November 19, 2007, 11:03:16 PM
ah very nice improvisation ! it kind of matches the sad, depressive mood Im in right now, in this period of my life. Very nice! Recently, ive discovered improvising for myself. And i think its really great fun. But Im not very good at it =(
"We can never know what to want, because, living only one life, we can neither compare it with our previous lives nor perfect it in our lives to come."

Milan Kundera,The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Offline pianowolfi

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: November 20, 2007, 08:18:23 AM
Just a short scetchy comment for now :) your music resonates with me, anyway, like no other music in the world. So it's also with this one. Yes there is a sort of sadness in it, but it sounds to me like it's the "sadness" of an angel and nothing "personal" or "selfish". It's divine sadness which contains also comfort.

The dog is pretty well in tune, as far as I can hear ;D

My best thoughts and wishes to you :)

Wolfi

Offline bob3.1415926

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: November 20, 2007, 09:23:16 AM
I agree with Wolfi. It is sad, but I think the dominating feeling is hope. I think the sadness comes from the notes you've chosen, but the hope comes from how you play them.
I really liked it.