Piano Forum

Poems of Ecstasy – Scriabin’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
The great early 20th-century composer Alexander Scriabin left us 74 published opuses, and several unpublished manuscripts, mainly from his teenage years – when he would never go to bed without first putting a copy of Chopin’s music under his pillow. All of these scores (220 pieces in total) can now be found on Piano Street’s Scriabin page. Read more >>

Topic: Schumann-what it takes  (Read 5312 times)

Offline verywellmister

• PS Silver Member
Schumann-what it takes
on: June 16, 2006, 06:32:03 PM
I have never done German music like Schumann before and I may learn one of his pieces in the near future, but what makes his music difficult? 
I have heard some people use heavy rubato or tempo changes throughout his pieces and some who don't.  This really puzzles me.  Could someone give me an example of a schumann interpreter?  Thanks.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)

This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination

i thought i heard my washing machine playing Ondine
Robert Schumann:
- Top pieces & piano scores to download
- Biography & quotes
- Related forum topics & articles

Offline Mozartian

• PS Silver Member
Re: Schumann-what it takes
Reply #1 on: June 16, 2006, 07:12:12 PM
Clara Haskil and Cortot play beautiful Schumann, as does Gilels. I will also admit to liking a lot of Pollini's Schumann as well. Argerich plays some good Schumann (her recordings of his chamber works are particularly wonderful). Cziffra rules at Schumann- he plays an AMAZING op. 26 Carnaval, and also check out the Schumann recordings of Kempff, Horowitz, Rubinstein, Demus, and Alvanis. The (unfortunately very few) recordings of Schumann that Kapell and Lipatti made are divine, and Fiorentino's Schumann is unbelievably satisfying- oh to play like he did...