Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Repeats and strict adherence to fingering etc.  (Read 4236 times)

Offline bats_about_belfreys

• PS Silver Member
Repeats and strict adherence to fingering etc.
on: October 28, 2009, 01:14:04 PM
I am a self-taught pianist who, at 41, has started to take lessons (which I need because I WILL play Franck's Prelude, Chorale and Fugue before I die) and I am sure that the following will prove controversial.

From day 1, my teacher has set on a course of absolute strictness. I developed an intuitive fingering technique that allows me to cross over the 3rd and 4th fingers (now I do this almost automatically and with great ease) in order to maintain perfect legato without recourse to the pedal. In Mozart and Bach particularly this has proved helpful (as well as the Berceuse by Chopin). She regards it as a circus trick, disrespectful of the composer's wishes, out-of-step with the fingerging on the score and recommends judicious application of the pedal. Well, not recommends, but insists on. To me, of the three choices available - 1. maintain an honest fracture in the legato because the human hand has natural limitations; 2. do whatever you physically can to adhere to the composer's instructions (which exist IN THE MUSIC, not in the digitation put there perhaps a century later by some musicologist); 3. blur the entire register of the piano by using the sustain pedal - the pedal is the ugliest and the most cheaty. Even given the lightest touch its indiscriminate smoke affects every corner. I'd even put it on a par with selecting the "strings" sound effect when you are playing Schumann on an electric keyboard. It is rude.