Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Medical Care for Pianist (and other musicians)  (Read 1530 times)

Offline ionian_tinnear

• PS Silver Member
Medical Care for Pianist (and other musicians)
on: July 01, 2011, 04:29:13 PM
For many years now, I've struggled with my arm muscles, especially the left side.  In younger years, I worked as a carpenter, worked on a farms, dug holes, anything to make ends meet.  Now my left arm hurts a bit all the time, varying from an ache to sharp twinging pain.

Worse, the left hand responds slower than my right.  This means that when playing something that has the two hands playing in parallel, like scales or arpeggios, the hands don't stay together, the left finishes the run late.

Doctors I've seen have tested and tested, yet say that my responses are 'low but within the averages', so they don't seem to be very concerned.  I get the 'go do something else instead' line, a lot.  We spend years working our reflexes and responses to get them to a higher than average level, 'low but within the averages' feels rather crippling to me.

Enough of the sad story.  I won't go into the other ways I damaged my instrument (dirt bike racing for instance) in the folly of my youth.

My question for this forum is:  Are there doctors, or other medical providers, that take musician and other artists more seriously?

I'm only 50+, and nothing short of amputation will ever stop me from playing piano, but it would be nice to get some relief from the constant pain.
Albeniz: Suite Española #1, Op 47,
Bach: French Suite #5 in G,
Chopin: Andante Spianato,
Chopin: Nocturne F#m, Op 15 #2
Chopin: Ballade #1 Gm & #3 Aflat Mj