Piano Forum

Topic: The Inner Game of Music vs The Inner Game of Tennis?  (Read 3045 times)

Online lelle

• PS Gold Member
The Inner Game of Music vs The Inner Game of Tennis?
on: August 19, 2015, 08:02:18 PM
Nerves currently have too big a negative impact on the quality of my playing in performance, especially in high pressure situations. Working on and researching this problem, I have stumbled upon these books. I'd like to read both eventually but I'm a student currently on a shoestring budget so I have to pick one. "Tennis" is the classic and "Music" is, obviously, the musician version. Has anyone here read any or both of these books and can advice me on which one to get?

Offline thalbergmad

• PS Silver Member
Re: The Inner Game of Music vs The Inner Game of Tennis?
Reply #1 on: August 19, 2015, 08:58:04 PM
I have read the music one ages ago and i recall it seeming a bit too good to be true. The author makes some pretty amazing claims on how his methods have assisted tennis players, musicians and even skiers if i remember.

If i can find the damned thing, you are more than welcome to it as it is of no value to me.

Thal
Curator/Director
Concerto Preservation Society

Offline esmusssein

Reply #2 on: August 20, 2015, 01:20:03 PM
I have both, and they've been helpful in my job, which is not music. :)  They are both good, but, regarding the nerves problem, have you thought about meditation? Unless of course you're already doing it. Also: have you thought about the root of your issue? What causes the anxiety? Analyze it and maybe it will be a good thing.

Oh and the most helpful person I've ever encountered with regard to these problems is the late American renowned psychologist, Albert Ellis. He wrote lots of books,and some of his hilarious lectures are available on YouTube. If I had to pick one of his works, it would be the book entitled How to Refuse to Make Yourself Miserable About Anything Yes, Anything!

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member