Piano Forum

Poems of Ecstasy – Scriabin’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
The great early 20th-century composer Alexander Scriabin left us 74 published opuses, and several unpublished manuscripts, mainly from his teenage years – when he would never go to bed without first putting a copy of Chopin’s music under his pillow. All of these scores (220 pieces in total) can now be found on Piano Street’s Scriabin page. Read more >>

Topic: Repetoire - grade 5ish  (Read 4840 times)

Offline potentialpianist

Repetoire - grade 5ish
on: December 30, 2015, 10:17:41 PM
Hi,

I've been playing piano for the last 9 years  but only started reading sheet music last year - which was a little stupid of me as I'm now 17 and my grasp of sheet music isn't quite what I'd like it to be. I began to get lessons last year and quit about 4 months ago as I wasn't getting along too well with my teacher. I'm at around a grade 5 standard and I've been tackling Moonlight sonata (1st mvt) recently and I was wondering  if anyone could recommend some other pieces to get under my belt? I know there are probably a million threads just like this floating around but I'm having some difficulty finding them! I'm trying to develop my technique myself for a while until I've gathered together the money for a new teacher. I've recently learnt Raindrop prelude (Chopin) and Primavera by Einaudi.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

thanks!

Offline abbyes

Re: Repetoire - grade 5ish
Reply #1 on: December 30, 2015, 10:36:50 PM