Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Am I a fast learner?  (Read 2873 times)

Offline chupaadino

Am I a fast learner?
on: March 30, 2016, 06:52:24 PM
Dear people from Pianostreet,

It's been four/three months since I started playing piano for the first time so it's time to reflect on my performance in the last months.
Here's an idea of what I've done:

Begin January
Started to watch some YouTube video's about music theory and taught myself some small pieces of
Erik Satie's gymnopedies (via tutorials).

End january
Watching more and more music theory videos. Unneccesarily (maybe not?) pracitced a sh*t ton of scales in major and minor. Maybe this has improved my capabilities to play by ear?

Begin February
Started taking lessons. Using the book 'The Joy of First Year Piano'. Almost forcing myself to learn 99% theory (which made it quite boring).

End February
Wanted to start a new "project" so I printed out a sheet of Für Elise. After a couple of days practice, I knew the notes of the first part, which was obviously played very chunky. Also, my prehistoric dj keyboard (yamaha djx) wasn't helping in making it sound good..

Begin March