Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin: Nocturne, op. 48/1 - Doppio movimento left hand  (Read 4153 times)

Offline marijn1999

Hi guys,

Today I started practicing two new pieces, one of which contains three movements (Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1, I'm gonna perform that with a local youth orchestra here in Amsterdam). I already have question about both of them right now. But I'll adress both of them in seperate threads.

So, back to my question. The way I'm practicing this nocturne is by dividing it (actually Chopin already has done this) into three sections: The lento; the più lento; The doppio movimento. I practice all three of them for 20 minutes every day so I won't get to eager to move on to some more exciting passages.

So, I did 20 minutes on the lento. It went fine, no problems (also didn't expect any). The same goes for the più lento. All fine and no problems yet. However (and here, I did expect problems) when I moved on to the doppio movimento, thing got less and less toilless. I'm not sure how to practice this texture. Do you guys think it is a good idea to divide the texture into three layers: base line/chords, treble chords and the melody line. Then practice those three seperate and put them together later on, or do you have some other advice. Did anyone here play/perfect this nocturne and can s/he tell me how they practiced it?

Thanks in advance!

BW,
Marijn
Composing and revising old pieces.
---------------------------------------
Visit my YouTube channel! (https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCR0LNNGEPY002W1UXWkqtSw)

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin: Nocturne, op. 48/1 - Doppio movimento left hand