Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Adult Beginner with some experience  (Read 1349 times)

Offline musicdabbler

Adult Beginner with some experience
on: October 12, 2016, 05:04:56 AM
Growing up, my parents couldn't afford piano lessons for me, so my mother taught me what she could from time to time. I am now a skilled musician on a variety of other instruments, both treble and bass clef brass and woodwind instruments, and I recently got a piano in my home (finally!) I have therefore started playing again after a hiatus during which I only played when visiting my parents' house. I can play my way through Joplin's Entertainer, some of which is more fluid than other parts but I'm still working on it. Does anyone know what level that piece is, have any suggestions of other pieces I might enjoy and could work on, or any advice for me as I'm trying to improve my playing abilities? Thanks!

Offline adodd81802

• PS Silver Member
Re: Adult Beginner with some experience
Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 08:26:12 AM
Your questions, unfortunately are way too broad for a simple response. Best bet is a teacher if you want to become easily competent, although you say you are skilled in other areas, so one would assume you understand the basic knowledge of improving at an instrument,

The Entertainer has several versions some considerably harder than others so anywhere between a grade 5-7 i'd say.