Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: New practice routine  (Read 2331 times)

Offline nastassja

• PS Silver Member
New practice routine
on: January 01, 2017, 02:29:30 AM
Hello everybody,

Here is my story: I have been playing for 20 years, but I have spent the last 7 years on and off (some years working on new repertoire with a teacher, and others just reviewing some pieces without serious practice). Now due to different reasons (new piano  :) with heavier action than my previous one) I am back at it again!
My problem is... it seems that my hands are not used to practicing anymore (my left thumb feels weird after so many thumb passages/repetitive alberti bass/stretches...)

I was wondering if anyone on this forum had been in the same situation... I am looking for better ways to practice, and here is what I have come up with so far:

- Option 1: practicing different styles to have my fingers/hands work differently. I wonder if I should just stick to shorter practice sessions (like 30 minutes a day for a week, then upgrading to 40 min or 1 hour...). This used to be my favorite but it does require more than 30 minutes a day to get through the different styles+exercises.

- Option 2: A mix of option 1 + light sight reading work when I feel tired.

- Option 3: No more than 15 minutes at a time, short sessions throughout the day, no matter what I am playing.

I used to practice a lot when I was younger and never hurt myself from overpracticing, but I am wondering whether too much sudden practice could be bad for my hands (since I'm almost old now    ;D).

Thank you in advance!

Offline bronnestam

• PS Silver Member
Re: New practice routine