Piano Forum logo
November 20, 2017, 08:57:22 PM *
   Forum Home   Help Search  


Krystian Zimerman – An Exclusive Radio Interview with the Enigmatic Polish Pianist

Tom Service went to Basel, Switzerland, to meet up with Krystian Zimerman to talk with him about his very personal and passionate philosophy of music. In a candid discussion, Zimerman explains how the piano is like a human being to him – he owns six instruments, and is obsessive about choosing the right keyboard for the repertoire he is practicing or performing. He reveals how he is unhappy with recordings and even advises against buying his own records and also reflects on the unique relationship between performer and audience. Read more >>

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: steinway virtual grand - garittan problem  (Read 643 times)
berni22
PS Gold Member
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« on: March 01, 2017, 11:51:14 AM »

i have  yamaha clavinova but when i installed steinway virtual grand, the voice of keys is late. Do you know why?

Do i need converter or what ?

Bernard
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged
Bob
PS Silver Member
Sr. Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 14856


« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2017, 12:38:46 PM »

What's the set up?  I'm curious.  Is the keyboard producing sounds or do the sounds come from something else, like a computer/synthesizer box?

It's lag.  If the sounds come from the keyboard still, but it's connected to a computer, the keyboard sends the signal to the computer which sends a signal back to the keyboard to produce the sound.  That can take milliseconds.  As opposed to the keyboard key is pressed and it produces sound from itself right away, less lag.

And it's super annoying.  I've been trying to figure out a solution for years, but never found anything.  Supposedly a fast computer and computers should be fast enough and powerful enough now to not have lag.  I haven't tried it for years now with a newer computer to see.
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged

Favorite new teacher quote -- "You found the only possible wrong answer."
berni22
PS Gold Member
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2017, 01:17:51 PM »

you think that maybe i have to get ASIO? WHat is ASIO? Smiley

Bernard
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged
iansinclair
PS Silver Member
Sr. Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 1473


« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2017, 03:19:13 PM »

ASIO:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_Stream_Input/Output is not a bad description.

The problem is latency.  If the signal processing is being done entirely within the Clavinova, you probably can't get at the hardware and software at a deep enough level to do anything about it.  If you are feeding the signal -- as, for example, a MIDI output to an outboard PC, then you may be able to get rid of the problem.

Or not.  It depends a lot on how much processing is going on and where.
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged

Ian
Bob
PS Silver Member
Sr. Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 14856


« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2017, 12:07:33 AM »

If there's anything else going on for sound processing, try turning that off.  Room echo, EQ, etc.
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged

Favorite new teacher quote -- "You found the only possible wrong answer."
berni22
PS Gold Member
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2017, 07:20:34 PM »

i sent message to make music in hope that they can help me. If they cant, i will send the letter to garittan company.

Bernard
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged
Bob
PS Silver Member
Sr. Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 14856


« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2017, 11:52:14 AM »

Yeah, I'd stick on the manufacturer for an explanation.

It sounds like you just copy new sound data into the device.  Probably too much for it somehow.

I wonder if it's possible to upgrade the memory or processing in the machine, but I'd doubt it.  Maybe memory but that probably wouldn't solve it.
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged

Favorite new teacher quote -- "You found the only possible wrong answer."
berni22
PS Gold Member
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2017, 06:47:30 PM »

I should be able to configure my audio output, and buffer sizes in the preferences window and Go to Tools > Preferences.

i hope that will work

Bernard
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged
rangerx
PS Silver Member
Jr. Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2017, 01:37:09 PM »

What's the set up?  I'm curious.  Is the keyboard producing sounds or do the sounds come from something else, like a computer/synthesizer box?

It's lag.  If the sounds come from the keyboard still, but it's connected to a computer, the keyboard sends the signal to the computer which sends a signal back to the keyboard to produce the sound.  That can take milliseconds.  As opposed to the keyboard key is pressed and it produces sound from itself right away, less lag.

And it's super annoying.  I've been trying to figure out a solution for years, but never found anything.  Supposedly a fast computer and computers should be fast enough and powerful enough now to not have lag.  I haven't tried it for years now with a newer computer to see.
you do have the proper audio interface i imagine , the on board audio card isn't good enough you need something ,like this this will give you the proper latency

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/KompAudio6
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged
iansinclair
PS Silver Member
Sr. Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 1473


« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2017, 04:22:10 PM »

I can't help but say... try playing an organ in a big space someday, where the sounding pipes are say 200 feet away.  Or more.  That will either cure you of worrying about latency in a hurry -- or kill you.  For notes played at 100 bpm, you will be hearing notes a beat or two behind where you are playing... Grin
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged

Ian
hfmadopter
PS Silver Member
Sr. Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 2246


« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2017, 11:53:03 AM »

All my virtual sounds are run in MIDI out through an audio interface ( I use a Focusrite unit). The interface has it's own driver and takes the place of the sound card in the computer. It has it's own downloadable ASIO and it reduces latency and boosts clarity and also volume control. But I run this out to auxiliary speakers. I will say that some of the Windows 10 upgrades have messed with it's performance. It was awesome before those upgrades started loading on the Asus computer I use with it. I'd love to just roll that computer back to the Windows 8 it came with. I'm sure any new interface ( mine is about 3 years old now ) would probably be fine with Windows 10. But I never had latency issues with mine till some of the later W 10 upgrades came on board. I currently have the Focurite Asio set to it's lowest latency, near lowest sample rate, still sounds great in Pianoteq and in Mixcraft with very slight lag time, almost imperceptible but there none the less.
Do you find this post useful? Yes / No
Logged

Depressing the pedal on an out of tune acoustic piano and playing does not result in tonal color control or add interest, it's called obnoxious.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  


Need more info or help?


Search pianostreet.com - the web's largest resource of information about piano playing:



 
Jump to:  


Most popular classical piano composers:
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

o