Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Looking to get a new piano tomorrow Help! :)  (Read 1513 times)

Offline ancientsolar

• PS Silver Member
Looking to get a new piano tomorrow Help! :)
on: March 26, 2017, 09:33:17 PM
Hello,.

I have been playing piano since 2009.
I have grade 7 in piano and spent nearly all my time learning on a 2004 Casio AP65R.

Tomorrow i'm hoping to buy a new/used piano.

My questions Digital vs other digital,.
Digital vs Acoustic etc.

I want a piano that will take me to and above Grade 8,. this is the equivalent of playing the whole of Moonlight Sonata etc
Yamaha CLP 575 is my hope for a digital..
but I wondered if a 30 year old Ronisch Acoustic upright,. in immaculate condition was a worthy competitor?

Budget is £1700 but I am willing to have a lease to knock that up to £3000 ~ which may even be enough for the CLP 585 and the Kawai equivalent etc.

Offline iansinclair

• PS Silver Member
Re: Looking to get a new piano tomorrow Help! :)
Reply #1 on: March 26, 2017, 10:14:29 PM
Oof!  You are in a bit of a hurry, my friend!  While you are at the piano places, look around and see if you see a lonesome small grand somewhere in the shop and give it a try.  And whatever you do, try several pianos to see how you like the action.  You are advanced enough to be able to feel some differences, at least.