Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: Which piece should I learn  (Read 3664 times)

Offline zrz1127

• PS Silver Member
Which piece should I learn
on: September 13, 2019, 06:53:47 PM
I’ve been playing for about 3 or 4 years now. I just finished Chopin op10 no 12 and was wondering where I should go from there. I’ve also done simpler pieces like Rachmaninoff’s prelude in C# minor and Mozart’s K545. I was wondering if someone could tell me if it was possible for me to play Liebestraum or Un Sospiro. Or is there any other pieces you would recommend instead.

Offline j_tour

• PS Silver Member
Re: Which piece should I learn
Reply #1 on: September 14, 2019, 07:30:34 PM
Well, in truth I was thinking about eating some Flamin' Hot Cheetos and see what happens.

I'm really not sure what responses you'll get, but beyond the obvious "Well, what do you want to play?"  I dunno. 

So you've got a good LH, and can play octaves.  And by your short-list of things you're contemplating, you want to move forward, but in the same time period as your Chopin.

Since you like Chopin, why not do all of the Préludes?  Or, one of my favorites from Chopin, the variations on "La ci darem la mano."

I mean, you have some technique, so you can probably be trusted to play quite a few things.  I'd go with Bach, Debussy, and Beethoven, in that order.

Which pieces specifically from those composers?  I wouldn't know.  Whatever you want.  You can play scales and can persevere through a somewhat long and tedious piece, so to me that indicates you're able to develop whatever other technical skills you need, as they arise.