\"\"
Piano Forum logo

How do I practice piano masterfully? (Read 316 times)

Offline lucikewl

• PS Silver Member
How do I practice piano masterfully?
« on: June 02, 2020, 07:59:15 PM »
I'm majoring in piano at college, and I'm actually doing pretty well, but I'm always being bogged down by the stress of not practicing well enough. I know that I could practice so much more efficiently, but sometimes I just lack the motivation, or I just don't know what to practice. Then after sitting in the practice room for 3 hours I feel like I've gotten nothing accomplished and it just leaves me feeling kind of depressed, because I hear all the other pianists practicing and sounding like theyre getting stuff done. I've read all sorts of techniques and talked to some of my other musician friends on how they practice, but their advice just doesn't seem to help me that much. I don't want to ask my teacher because I would just get embarassed if I ask him how to practice. So, how do you guys practice effectively?

Offline samwitdangol

• PS Silver Member
Re: How do I practice piano masterfully?
«Reply #1 on: June 02, 2020, 09:04:45 PM »
This is an obvious one but many people don't do it: Always practice with a specific goal in mind that you want to accomplish by the end of the practice session. If you have a goal, your practicing will actually get you somewhere instead of it being pointless.

It might also help if you chunk your practice into smaller sessions instead of doing a full three hours at once.
Currently working on:

Beethoven Sonata 22 and 27
Chopin Nocturne Op. 15 No. 1
Bach Sinfonia 2
Czerny Op. 740
Scarlatti K. 18

Offline dogperson

«Reply #2 on: June 02, 2020, 09:30:45 PM »