Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: beginner repertoire suggestion  (Read 2876 times)

Offline tamaaa

• PS Silver Member
beginner repertoire suggestion
on: August 19, 2020, 03:03:09 AM
Hi, im a beginner with less than 1 years of playing (9 months to be exact), below is my recent repertoire (from early 2020):
Chopin Waltz in A minor
Sonatina Op 36 No 1
Chopin Prelude Op 28 No. 4
Bach Invention 1 and 4
Chopin Waltz Op 69 No. 1 and 2

yup, mostly chopin, i love all his waltz and some of the nocturnes (hope to be able to play op 9 no 2 sometime next year)
right now im trying debussy arabesque no 1 but i feel i lack the skill and can't get through the 1 1/2 pages (both hands), I dont know why tho, its henle level 4 right? supposed to be easier than the op 69 no 1 (henle level 5), perhaps im playing too many chopin?.

so what do you suggest? should i start looking another pieces? and if so, what pieces do you suggest will be appropriate according to my repertoire above?

thanks in advance.

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: beginner repertoire suggestion
Reply #1 on: August 19, 2020, 03:46:44 AM
How long did you spend on the music you listed above in order to get them to the level where you would feel comfortable playing them for other people?  Do you have a teacher at the moment?

IMO, if a piece is within your ability and you like it, then don't hesitate to learn it.  Since you like Chopin, continue to play Chopin.  Although, it would be beneficial for you to expand your knowledge to other composers as well.