Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Mic saturation question  (Read 1175 times)

Offline scientistplayspiano

• PS Silver Member
Mic saturation question
on: September 25, 2021, 01:28:25 PM
I have basic knowledge about recording, have been using USB mics for a while.
Now I start to record with a pair of Rode M5 with Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 interface.

The sound quality is excellent, but it seems the mic got saturated easily at the loudest sound. I am recording a Steinway B grand piano in a small studio room. The sound is LOUD. I tried to adjust the gains both on interface and on computer, even trying to move mic a little further away (the space is really tight), but nothing seems to help much.

On the other hand, the cheap mic on my camera seems to work fine (not saturated). I am now curious, is it because the dynamic range of M5 is small, or I did something wrong?

Offline quantum

• PS Silver Member
Re: Mic saturation question
Reply #1 on: September 25, 2021, 05:00:35 PM
Can you post a clip of the audio in question.  Can you describe your mic positioning in more detail (such as measurements from the piano).  Since you mentioned you were making adjustments in the computer, can you describe what things you did in your DAW.

According to the spec sheet, the Rode M5 have a dynamic range of 121 dB and a max SPL of 140 dB.  110 dB is generally considered the human pain threshold.  These mics are able to handle loud sounds.