Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: Am I ready for Heroic Polonaise Opus.53?  (Read 1264 times)

Offline horowitz_admirer

• PS Silver Member
Am I ready for Heroic Polonaise Opus.53?
on: October 04, 2022, 08:18:22 AM
Before I start I just want to say I'm incredibly sorry for asking this but please don't get angry at me please.
I'm a beginner advanced pianists (16M) my repertoire consists of Beethoven Sonata No.9, Clair de Lune and Ballade No.1 in G minor. I threw myself into the ballade 10 months ago with no etudes and Clair de Lune being my most advanced piece and now my skills have increased exponentially in the past 10 months. Obviously I plan to learn a selection of about 10-12 Chopin Etudes from both Opus 10 and Opus 25 etudes before learning any more advanced Chopin pieces, But do any of you think with my current repertoire plus a few etudes to hammer out technique that I would be ready for the Heroic Polonaise?
(bear in mind I do play other pieces I just don't consider waltzes and Preludes as high level pieces standing up to something like Ballade no.1)

Thanks a lot for taking the time to read this

Offline lelle

• PS Gold Member
Re: Am I ready for Heroic Polonaise Opus.53?
Reply #1 on: October 04, 2022, 11:40:34 AM
Difficult to answer without hearing you play. Unfortunately you saying that you play the Ballade doesn't say much about how well you play it.

The heroic polonaise has a middle section that puts high demands on your technique, or you'll find the left hand very tiring (it should not feel tiring at all with proper technique).