Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Help with theory  (Read 2505 times)

Offline pizno

• PS Silver Member
Help with theory
on: March 28, 2005, 04:15:23 AM
OK, I need some advice.  I've been playing piano for 40 years, but never really got the solid  background in theory I should have.  Or if I did, I wasn't really paying attention and forgot most of it.  There seems to be a big gap between what I am able to play and how much of it I truly understand.  I am beginning to realize (at 48, I'm a little slow) how much understanding theory and knowing how to analyze a piece would help in my learning and performing of a piece.  I'm at a point with my piano playing where I am trying to bring it up a notch or two and would like to take my understanding of music beyond the 'circle of fifths' (I get that) and what is sonata form.  Does anyone have any suggestions for where to go - online courses, or particular theory books?  It all sounds so boring, quite honestly.  But I suppose I need that in order to get to where I want to be.

Thanks for your thoughts on the subject!  And by the way, how much theory do you all know and how does it help you?

Offline dinosaurtales

• PS Silver Member
Re: Help with theory
Reply #1 on: March 28, 2005, 05:59:39 AM