Piano Forum

Master Teacher Christopher Elton – Never Ending Impetus
With 50 years at the Royal Academy of Music and an international teaching career, Professor Christopher Elton has gained unique experience in how to coach accomplished artists. In this unique interview for Piano Street, Elton shares his insights and views on the big perspective. Read more >>

Topic: Looking for a Digital Keyboard  (Read 1839 times)

Offline projectstormfury

• PS Silver Member
Looking for a Digital Keyboard
on: December 08, 2012, 09:45:52 PM
Last winter I asked for a Digital Keyboard for my winter holiday present. I was pretty impressed with it and the library of voices, until I realized that the piece of sh*t had no ability to differentiate between a soft strike and a hard strike, thus I returned it back to the store. A year later, I am now shopping for a better keyboard, with a budget of 500 dollars.

A little bit of info about me:

I am a vocally trained musician who is in the process of making his twenty second trip around the sun, who would like to start using the piano as a tool to compose music. I do not know how to use the piano or any kind of instruments besides my voice. I do know sight reading (for singing purposes) and music theory. I am also really good at visualizing music and singing it by ear. I have no interest in using the piano as an acoustic instrument, as I do in using the keyboard as a digital instrument.

I did some research on these things, I care not for features like styles, rhythms, or anything like that. I also do not care about what I believe is called graded touch where the bass is harder to press than the notes in the higher range of the instrument.. In fact, I see that as a negative feature, I do not want that in my keyboard...  

I do care about:

Velocity/Pressure sensitivity (First Priority)