Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Do any students ever like Microcosmos?  (Read 2702 times)

Offline virtuoso80

• PS Silver Member
Do any students ever like Microcosmos?
on: August 22, 2017, 03:45:31 AM
As a teacher and musician, I love Bartok's Microcosmos. Every piece even from the beginning is a little miniature work of art. It has so much subtlety and layering to it you can talk about details forever. To teach someone about what playing piano is really about, I think it's just great.

Only problem is that I don't I've ever found a student that enjoyed it. Some, in fact, hate it with a fiery passion, and others will simply 'forget' to practice it until I give up and do something else with them. Young, old, doesn't matter, I've never gotten one student to stick to it. What has your experience been?

Offline eldergeek

Re: Do any students ever like Microcosmos?
Reply #1 on: August 22, 2017, 07:30:54 AM
I am a student who came to the piano late in life (after retiring from full-time work) and loved learning via the  Mikrokosmos books. In fact, when hunting for a teacher, my first criteria was whether he/she was sympathetic to the idea of teaching me using The Bartok-Reshovsky manual and Mikrokosmos. Luckily I found one and am still with that teacher some years later.