Piano Forum

Rhapsody in Blue – A Piece of American History at 100!
The centennial celebration of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue has taken place with a bang and noise around the world. The renowned work of American classical music has become synonymous with the jazz age in America over the past century. Piano Street provides a quick overview of the acclaimed composition, including recommended performances and additional resources for reading and listening from global media outlets and radio. Read more >>

Topic: Need a starter piano on a TIGHT budget.. please help!  (Read 1904 times)

Offline red120

• PS Silver Member
Hi everyone,

I play tenor sax for about one year, and was interested to start learning piano as well (since my sax teacher refer to it constantly in theory). But, as a university student, I don't have a lot of spare money either, and can't have a real piano or anything in my apartment.

So! I thought I can get a digital piano (same as keyboard?) and then learn on my own from a book or something (because I don't have enough cash to take lessons for two instruments, one is very tight already). Plus, my coordination isn't very good, so if I take lessons, it will waste a lot of money.

Would you guys have any recommendations for something to start on? I would want to get 88 keys I think, because I do want to be able to actually play... but not sure on what kind of options I need. Anyways, thanks in advance everyone for your assistances ^^.. I would say maybe 1,000 CDN after tax, of course cheaper is even better as I don't have to save up money as long a time.

(Is it realistic even? Looking at this forum I saw so many people talking about 50,000 pianos..)

Offline jeremyjchilds

• PS Silver Member
Re: Need a starter piano on a TIGHT budget.. please help!
Reply #1 on: July 18, 2005, 05:03:22 PM
yamaha P60 is the cheapest weighted keyboard that is still decent. I paid $1100 cdn for mine