Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: My compostions (Please have a listen) Midi files  (Read 2601 times)

Offline pseudopianist

• PS Silver Member
My compostions (Please have a listen) Midi files
on: July 21, 2005, 12:35:44 PM
Well I took this class at my school in compostions (Since I go to a music school they offer classes like this I didn't say no)

Here are the compostions I wrote for it

A Minuet in F major - My first compostion (I was a guitarist back then so it isn't that pianist but they get the further they progress) This was based on a Mozart minuet, possibly K2 I think

The DAAARING Invention - Only a few seconds long, it was more of a joke then a real compostion, it is quite daring in it's harmony, by this time I haden't got a full grip of Counterpoint yet.

Canon in Eb minor - It speaks for itself. It ends quite odd but since it isn't supposed to have an ending...meh. ;)

Moscow 1 -  This is my biggest compostion to the date. It is over 43 pages (Since the orchestra parts take up quite a lot of space)

This is more pianist then my other pieces and much maturer but still very immature. :D
This is based on 2 themes one in F# minor and B minor which are variated through the piece. It is missing 2 major transtions which makes it incomplete. Also the midi really sucks, the left hand,  the piano takes over the theme from the orchestra, should not be played that strictly, it is notated in 11-tuplets, and the same goes for the left hand near the end, the left hand should have so much more rubato and not sound like DAMP DAMP DAMP DAMP when it plays chords over the 2nd theme.