Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: How valuable, if at all, are technical exercises?  (Read 6779 times)

Offline eddie92099

• PS Silver Member
How valuable, if at all, are technical exercises?
on: August 04, 2003, 06:27:09 PM
As a student I have for the most part avoided technical exercises and scales except for when they are required in exams etc. even though I want to be a professional pianist. This is because I feel that preparing a technique for absolutely anything by doing these kind of exercises is like learning the entire piano repertory and being only tested on Mozart. Why is it important to play double thirds if you are never going to play a piece that requires them?
I know that Ashkenazy doesn't do any exercises either (although I am not comparing our techniques!) but rather he says he gets all the technique he needs from the pieces he plays. What are other peoples thoughts on this topic?
Ed

NetherMagic

Re: How valuable, if at all, are technical exercis
Reply #1 on: August 04, 2003, 11:14:49 PM
eddie personally i think that in order to develop good technique and musicality, one must play all varieties of music.  Yes, that includes, scales, appreggios, and all those.  But just playing bare scales won't get you the technique.  You havta also play stuff like chopin, bach, beethoven, liszt, everything if you wanna get good.  If you don't do technique, it's sorta like doing addition without knowing the numbers... so I recommend you play all kinds of music if possible, hanon, czerny, bach, chopin, and yea you get my point

Offline eddie92099

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: August 05, 2003, 07:15:07 AM