Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Left hand technique.  (Read 3636 times)

Offline musicmaker18

• PS Silver Member
Left hand technique.
on: August 23, 2003, 06:25:53 AM
I am a composer and I am trying to improve my left hand technique.  How does someone write the left hand part?  I know you can use chords, but how would they use a melodic interval kind of technique.

I am new to music theory, so don't laugh if I made a mistake.
"To dream and not have the dream come true is better than not having dreamt at all." - Kayla

NetherMagic

Re: Left hand technique.
Reply #1 on: August 23, 2003, 08:01:29 AM
well musicmaker I'm assuming you're trying to learn how to be better at both using the LH to play music better and be better at composing the accompaniment for your music.

Btw, are you planning to compose pop-style or classical style music?

And since you are new to music theory, I suggest you take theory lessons.  In addition to that, analyze different pieces by different composers such as Bach, Beethoven, Mozart, Chopin, Debussy, etc., on how their pieces are like, their styles, and how they fit their compose their rhythms and accompaniment

Offline musicmaker18

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: August 23, 2003, 08:25:05 AM
well musicmaker I'm assuming you're trying to learn how to be better at both using the LH to play music better and be better at composing the accompaniment for your music.

Btw, are you planning to compose pop-style or classical style music?