Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: Mazeppa  (Read 10408 times)

Offline lau

• PS Silver Member
Mazeppa
on: January 03, 2006, 05:49:19 AM
I started learning this song 2 days ago. Any helpful hints? Anything would be great.

i'm not asian

Offline klavierkonzerte

• PS Silver Member
Re: Mazeppa
Reply #1 on: January 03, 2006, 07:11:08 AM
here's a hint

it's not a song  it's an etude.

Offline fliszt

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: January 03, 2006, 11:44:31 AM
i dont think they get the hint :p seems pretty difficult for people to call things by the right name

Offline etudes

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: January 03, 2006, 02:16:56 PM
practice melody in rh  with the bass in lh without thirds running in the middle
then practice only the double thirds run hands crossing in the middble
then put it together
octave practice only 1st finger HS then 5th finger HS then 1st Finger HT then 5th Finger HT
then octave together after you get it shut off your eyes in the octave jumps and practice it!
i never play it but many of my friends play it
use 2413
the pianist that use 2424 is Kocsis i dont know if anybody else
Piano = my life
My life = piano

Offline brahmsian

• PS Silver Member
Reply #4 on: January 03, 2006, 03:17:19 PM
here's a hint

it's not a song  it's an etude.

::)
Chuck Norris didn't lose his virginity- he systematically tracked it down and destroyed it.

Offline maxy

• PS Silver Member
Reply #5 on: January 03, 2006, 10:49:09 PM
tsk tsk

do it 2-4 2-4 it's all about freedom of arms.  It's actually very well conceived.  Most of the time you can move only one hand at a time.