Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: Pathetique 1st movement feedback please  (Read 3904 times)

Offline newbness

• PS Silver Member
Pathetique 1st movement feedback please
on: February 14, 2006, 04:17:32 AM
Hey masters, im a selftaught pianist and i got no teacher yet because they too expensive right now. Please rip this recording to shreds.

I've tried my best to use my ear for all the correct articulation etc by listening to others play this piece.
The battery ran out of the mp3/recorder player so near the ending of the piece is cut off. Feedback for improvements please master

https://beta.yousendit.com/transfer.php?action=download&ufid=377B4B94FFB008C7

another link incase it expires
https://beta.yousendit.com/transfer.php?action=download&ufid=E416A737CA6889D4

Offline tompilk

• PS Silver Member
Re: Pathetique 1st movement feedback please
Reply #1 on: February 14, 2006, 08:51:54 PM
Im playing this at the moment for my diploma and i think it's a great piece. I have got about 1/2 way through the first movement, all the 2nd movement and all the 3rd movement practised, but not up to speed. .. in fact very slowly... but it's not as hard as i thought it would be is it?
A bit slow at the beginning... and how suddenly did you start after sitting down??!?!?
In fact too slow at the beggining i would say.
Some strange rhythms too... such as before the chromatic at the beginning.
However, I think you stick too much to the rhythm in the left hand during the octave trems or whatever they are.
Tom
Working on: Schubert - Piano Sonata D.664, Ravel - Sonatine, Ginastera - Danzas Argentinas

Offline steve jones

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: February 14, 2006, 11:02:05 PM