Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: How to find a tutoring job?  (Read 1501 times)

Offline onemanband

• PS Silver Member
How to find a tutoring job?
on: November 30, 2003, 10:48:55 PM
I am a piano major undergraduate student in Canada. I want to do some private tutoring for kids, but I don't know how to start?

Offline Scarborough

• PS Silver Member
Re: How to find a tutoring job?
Reply #1 on: December 04, 2003, 04:31:23 AM
1. Make business cards on your computer.  If you don't know how get a copy shop to make you some.  They are cheap to make.  Office supply stores sell paper you can run through your printer to make business cards.  You can use almost any program to design one: word, publisher

2. Make a one page flier that has more information than your business card can hold, including your fees, if you're willing to travel to clients homes, and maybe some testimonials from past students or their parents.  If you are able to build a website (free hosting on places like angelfire.com) also include that web address and your email address on the flier.

3. Take your business cards/fliers to local music stores and ask if they will please hand them out, hang them up, or place them near the register.  

4. Mail some fliers/cards to the area elementary/middle/ high school with a nice cover letter to the music teacher asking them to post your flier and music cards where parents might see them. Some schools can't do that, some can, but it's a good way to make contacts with local music teachers nevertheless.  

5.  Mail some fliers/cards with a nice cover letter to area churches and ask if they will hang them in the narthex/lobby.