Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Chopin scherzo number 2  (Read 13054 times)

Offline psaiko

• PS Silver Member
Chopin scherzo number 2
on: May 05, 2006, 09:17:52 PM
I have played piano for 10 years. I am finish fantaisie impromptu now. I had some trouble learning this (especially the cross rythm), but after two months I now have it almost at consert level.

My question is how far above my level are the chopin scherzo no.2 or ballad no.1? Could I jump right to one of these, or should I have some more Chopin experience first? I have not played any of his etudes, any advise of (manageable) etudes to prepare me for this?

Thanks

Offline Kassaa

• PS Silver Member
Re: Chopin scherzo number 2
Reply #1 on: May 06, 2006, 06:21:32 AM
What are the other pieces you play?

Offline psaiko

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: May 06, 2006, 07:49:42 AM
What are the other pieces you play?

The most challenging other pieces are not that known. Most likely non of you here have played them:

Wedding day at Troldhaugen (Edvard Grieg)
"Kjempeviseslåtten"/Giant of revolt (Harald Sæverud, another norwegian composer from the same town as Grieg))
Notturno (Edvard Grieg)

The first two are about the same difficult level as the FI, but in different ways. The only Chopin I have played besides FI is waltz 69/1 a long time ago.

Offline henrah

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: May 06, 2006, 09:46:01 AM