Piano Forum

Enfant Terrible or Childishly Innocent? – Prokofiev’s Complete Piano Works Now on Piano Street
In our ongoing quest to provide you with a complete library of classical piano sheet music, the works of Sergey Prokofiev have been our most recent focus. As one of the most distinctive and original musical voices from the first half of the 20th century, Prokofiev has an obvious spot on the list of top piano composers. Welcome to the intense, humorous, and lyrical universe of his complete Sonatas, Concertos, character pieces, and transcriptions! Read more >>

Topic: Composer asking about using 3 staves...  (Read 11063 times)

Offline Billy

• PS Silver Member
Composer asking about using 3 staves...
on: December 13, 2003, 08:43:25 PM
Hello, everyone.  I'm a composer, and I'm currently putting the finishing touches on a piano trio.  I have always tried to avoid using 3 staves for a piano part, but I think I've encountered a situation where I need to use three staves: the left hand alternates between low, sustained octaves and chords in the middle register, while the right hand is playing a wide range of notes in the upper register.  There just isn't any room on two staves for all of the music!
My question is this:  how do pianists feel about reading three staves?  Is it particularly hard to read/understand the first time through? Should I really, really avoid this, or is it ok sometimes?  
Thanks in advance,
Billy

Offline Sketchee

• PS Silver Member
Re: Composer asking about using 3 staves...
Reply #1 on: December 13, 2003, 10:09:58 PM