Piano Forum

Remembering the great Maurizio Pollini
Legendary pianist Maurizio Pollini defined modern piano playing through a combination of virtuosity of the highest degree, a complete sense of musical purpose and commitment that works in complete control of the virtuosity. His passing was announced by Milan’s La Scala opera house on March 23. Read more >>

Topic: Studies - Burgmuller  (Read 13307 times)

Offline chadefa1

• PS Silver Member
Studies - Burgmuller
on: August 18, 2006, 12:43:11 PM
Hi all,

I am a beginner (1 year) and going through Burgmuller as a way to improve my technique. I like it because the pieces are easy enough to be learned in a week, and are musical.
I realize, however, that each of them emphasizes one or a few technical difficulties. Therefore, I am wondering if I should go back to them regularly. So far, I have learned a piece for the following lesson, "mastered it" for that lesson, and then have forgotten about it to go on to the next one, without playing it ever again.
Is this the right way to go about it? Or am I supposed to keep practicing them so that I keep working through their technical difficulties?

In short, learn them once and forget about them, or keep playing them  regularly?

Thank you!
Tom
Friedrich Burgmüller:
- Top pieces & piano scores to download
- Biography & quotes
- Related forum topics & articles

Offline bernhard

• PS Silver Member
Re: Studies - Burgmuller
Reply #1 on: August 18, 2006, 01:17:51 PM
Hi all,

I am a beginner (1 year) and going through Burgmuller as a way to improve my technique. I like it because the pieces are easy enough to be learned in a week, and are musical.
I realize, however, that each of them emphasizes one or a few technical difficulties. Therefore, I am wondering if I should go back to them regularly. So far, I have learned a piece for the following lesson, "mastered it" for that lesson, and then have forgotten about it to go on to the next one, without playing it ever again.