Piano Forum

The Complete Piano Works of 16 Composers
Piano Street’s digital sheet music library is constantly growing. With the additions made during the past months, we now offer the complete solo piano works by sixteen of the most famous Classical, Romantic and Impressionist composers in the web’s most pianist friendly user interface. Read more >>

Topic: What's the point of scales?  (Read 17488 times)

Offline aaron_ginn

• PS Silver Member
What's the point of scales?
on: September 19, 2006, 02:04:35 PM
Really, I don't get it.  What does playing scales over and over gain you that simply playing real works doesn't?

I'm a beginner and I'm currently working on the third movement of the Moonlight Sonata.  Obviously, I can see the benefit of playing C# arpeggios over and over, but I don't understand how playing the entire C# scale up and down will help me.

I'm not trying to stir anything up.  I'm just genuinely curious about the benefits of scales over actually learning scales by playing real works in a given key.

Offline supertonic

• PS Silver Member
Re: What's the point of scales?
Reply #1 on: September 19, 2006, 02:42:55 PM
One day you will understand when you play, eg Mozart sonata, and many classical pieces have a lot of scaly passages too. It is the foundation.

Offline pianistimo

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: September 19, 2006, 03:03:43 PM
also, the keyboard is invaluable in conceptualizing theory.  many times pianists have a much easier time in theory classes because they can 'see' the keyboard in their head - and understand things like the circle of fifths and counting intervals correctly.  major and corresponding minor keys.  so forth.

Offline maestoso

• PS Silver Member
Reply #3 on: September 19, 2006, 03:27:15 PM
ask bernhard or pianistimo then ponder the question again! lol
"Music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosphy. Music is the electrical soil in which the spirit lives, thinks and invents." - Ludwig van Beethoven