Piano Forum

International Piano Day 2024
Piano Day is an annual worldwide event that takes place on the 88th day of the year, which in 2024 is March 28. Established in 2015, it is now well known across the globe. Every year it provokes special concerts, onstage and online, as well as radio shows, podcasts, and playlists. Read more >>

Topic: What songs to teach beginners?  (Read 3001 times)

Offline Jamagoine

• PS Silver Member
What songs to teach beginners?
on: March 15, 2004, 09:41:25 PM
Hello everybody,

I'm an unexperienced piano teacher, I've always taught musical theory and traditional repertoire, but now I have some students who want to learn classical music to play, but I don't have a wide list of these songs among my repertoire, so I would like to know if anybody on the forum can help me to pick some classical tunes to teach to beginners.

I can play songs like For Elise by Beethoven, The Entertainer by Joplin, Minuet in G by Bach, Turkish March by Mozart, but I not sure if they are appropriated for beginners.

I'll appreciate any help form you guys.

Offline bernhard

• PS Silver Member
Re: What songs to teach beginners?
Reply #1 on: March 15, 2004, 11:23:18 PM
Hello everybody,

I'm an unexperienced piano teacher, I've always taught musical theory and traditional repertoire, but now I have some students who want to learn classical music to play, but I don't have a wide list of these songs among my repertoire, so I would like to know if anybody on the forum can help me to pick some classical tunes to teach to beginners.

I can play songs like For Elise by Beethoven, The Entertainer by Joplin, Minuet in G by Bach, Turkish March by Mozart, but I not sure if they are appropriated for beginners.

I guess if Ed was still around he would have had a heart attack! ;)

Anyway, if you are looking for beginner's pieces, have a look at this thread:

https://www.pianoforum.net/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=teac;action=display;num=1075165020

(There are others).