Piano Forum

Does Rachmaninoff Touch Your Heart?
Today, with smartwatches and everyday electronics, it is increasingly common to measure training results, heart rate, calorie consumption, and overall health. But monitoring heart rate of pianists and audience can reveal interesting insights on several other aspects within the musical field. Read more >>

Topic: Difficulty level of Moonlight Sonata 1st Movement?  (Read 89854 times)

Offline ditz81

• PS Silver Member
Hi there,
my teacher and I are considering starting the 1st movement of the moonlight sonata, so I can work it during summer and would like to know how it grades.

I have seen in the graded chart list that the whole sonata is graded 8.
What would be the level of the 1st movement? (1 to 10).

I love it, but I don't want to get frustated because of its difficulty.

I am an adult beginner, started with 25years and have been taking lessons for 9 months.

Thanks in advance.

Recorded 3 weeks ago:
[VIDEO UNAVAILABLE]

(I can do better though)

Offline shortyshort

• PS Silver Member
Re: Difficulty level of Moonlight Sonata 1st Movement?
Reply #1 on: July 24, 2007, 10:13:51 AM
I would say about Grade 4.  :D

Practice fast, perform slow.  ;D
If God really exists, then why haven't I got more fingers?

Offline rimv2

• PS Silver Member
Reply #2 on: July 24, 2007, 10:45:52 AM
Hi there,
my teacher and I are considering starting the 1st movement of the moonlight sonata, so I can work it during summer and would like to know how it grades.

I have seen in the graded chart list that the whole sonata is graded 8.
What would be the level of the 1st movement? (1 to 10).

I love it, but I don't want to get frustated because of its difficulty.

I am an adult beginner, started with 25years and have been taking lessons for 9 months.

Thanks in advance.

Recorded 3 weeks ago:
[VIDEO UNAVAILABLE]

(I can do better though)